THE NAVAJO NATION LEGISLATIVE BRANCH INTERNET PUBLIC REVIEW PUBLICATION



LEGISLATION NO: <u>0024-25</u>

SPONSOR: Casey Allen Johnson

TITLE: An Action Relating to Naabik'íyáti' Committee and Navajo Nation Council; Confirming the Appointment of Ms. Mable Franklin to the Diné Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission Representing the Western Abandoned Uranium Mines Region

Date posted: March 05, 2025 at 1:25PM.

Digital comments may be e-mailed to comments@navajo-nsn.gov

Written comments may be mailed to:

Executive Director Office of Legislative Services P.O. Box 3390 Window Rock, AZ 86515 (928) 871-7586

Comments may be made in the form of chapter resolutions, letters, position papers, etc. Please include your name, position title, address for written comments; a valid e-mail address is required. Anonymous comments will not be included in the Legislation packet.

Please note: This digital copy is being provided for the benefit of the Navajo Nation chapters and public use. Any political use is prohibited. All written comments received become the property of the Navajo Nation and will be forwarded to the assigned Navajo Nation Council standing committee(s) and/or the Navajo Nation Council for review. Any tampering with public records are punishable by Navajo Nation law pursuant to 17 N.N.C. *§374 et. seq.*

LEGISLATIVE SUMMARY SHEET

Tracking No. <u>0024-25</u>

DATE: March 5, 2025

TITLE OF RESOLUTION: AN ACTION RELATING TO NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE AND NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL; CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF MS. MABLE FRANKLIN TO THE DINÉ URANIUM REMEDIATION ADVISORY COMMISSION REPRESENTING THE WESTERN ABANDONED URANIUM MINES REGION

PURPOSE: The purpose of the resolution is to confirm the appointment of Ms. Mable Franklin to serve on the Diné Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission as a Community Member of the Western Abandoned Uranium Mine Region for a term ending September 30, 2029.

Final Authority: Navajo Nation Council

Vote Required: Simple Majority

This written summary does not address recommended amendments as may be provided by the standing committees. The Office of Legislative Counsel requests each Council Delegate to review each proposed resolution in detail.

	HOLD PERIOD: Naabik'íyáti' C	ommittee Thence
Posting End Date: 03-10-25 Navajo Nation Counci		
Eligible for Action: 03-11-25		
I	PROPOSED NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL RESOLUTION	
2	25 th NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL – Third Year, 2025	
3	INTRODUCED BY	
4	Λ Λ	
5	Caren Joluson	
6	(Prime Sponsor)	
7		
8	TRACKING NO. <u>0024-25</u>	
9		
10	AN ACTION	
11	RELATING TO NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE AND NAVAJO NATION	
12	COUNCIL; CONFIRMING THE APPOINTMENT OF MS. MABLE FRANKLIN	
13	TO THE DINÉ URANIUM REMEDIATION ADVISORY COMMISSION	
14	REPRESENTING THE WESTERN ABANDONED URANIUM MINES REGION	
15		
16	SECTION ONE. AUTHORITY	
• 17	A. The Navajo Nation Council established the Naabik'íyáti' Committee as a Navajo	
18	Nation Council standing committee. 2 N.N.C. § 700(A).	
19	B. The Naabik'íyáti' Committee of the Navajo Nation Council exercises legislative	
20	oversight of the Diné Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission. 2 N.N.C. § 3583;	
21	CAP-14-15.	
22	C. The Naabik'íyáti' Committee of the Navajo Nation Council, pursuant to 2 N.N.C. §	
23	164(A)(9), reviews proposed legislation which requires final action by the Navajo	
24	Nation Council.	
25	D. The Navajo Nation Council appoints the six (6) commission members representing the	
26	six Abandoned Uranium Mines (AUM), Northern, North Central, Eastern, Southern,	
27	Western and Central. NABIJN-44-24.	
28		
29	SECTION TWO. FINDINGS	
30		
	Page 1 of 3 25-094-1	

•

A. The Diné Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission was established within the Executive Branch of the Navajo Nation. 2 N.N.C. § 3583; CAP-14-15.

B. The Diné Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission shall consist of seven (7) members. "Seven members shall be community members, preferably one from each of the six Abandoned Uranium Mines (AUM) Regions (as defined by the U.S. EPA) affected by past uranium mining – Northern, North Central, Eastern, Southern, Western, and Central, and one selected At-Large Community Representative. These seven (7) members shall all be enrolled members of the Navajo Nation with a background in environmental science, environmental justice, engineering, social science, health, policy making if at all possible." NABIJN-44-24, attached as Exhibit 1 with its Exhibit A DINÉ URANIUM REMEDIATION ADVISORY COMMISSION Amended Master Plan of Operation 2024 ("Commission Plan of Operation"), VIII (2)(a).

- C. "The Navajo Nation Council shall appoint the six Members representing the six uranium mining regions. NABIJN-44-24, Commission Plan of Operation, VIII (3)(b).
- D. "The President and Council may, but are not required to, make a public announcement soliciting letters of interest and statements of qualification for the Commission member positions. Exhibit 1, NABIJN-44-24, Commission Plan of Operation, VIII (3)(c).
- E. "The initial term of the Commission shall be approximately five (5) years. The second term shall begin when a quorum of Commissioners is established and shall end on September 30, 2029. The Navajo Nation Council may, by majority vote, renew the Commission for an additional five-year term, or for such period as the Council may choose." Exhibit 1, NABIJN-44-24, Commission Plan of Operation, VIII (1).

F. Ms. Mable Franklin has requested to serve on the Diné Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission as the Community Member from the Western Abandoned Uranium Mine Region. Ms. Franklin's letter of interest and resume show background in environmental justice and policy. Her letter of interest and resume are attached as Exhibit 2. Ms. Franklin is an enrolled member of the Navajo Nation; her CIB is attached as Exhibit 3.

SECTION THREE. CONFIRMING APPOINTMENT

The Navajo Nation hereby confirms the appointment of Ms. Mable Franklin to serve on the Diné Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission as a Community Member from the Western Abandoned Uranium Mine Region for a term ending on September 30, 2029.