

25TH NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL OFFICE OF THE SPEAKER

MEDIA CONTACT:

nnlb.communications@gmail.com

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE December 11, 2024

25th Navajo Nation Council congratulates Arbin Mitchell, newly elected Council Delegate for District 6



During the Dec. 10 Special Election, Arbin Mitchell was elected as the Council Delegate representing District 6.

WINDOW ROCK, Ariz. – The 25th Navajo Nation Council extends its congratulations to Arbin Mitchell, who was elected yesterday as the Council Delegate for the Navajo Chapters of Houck, Klagetoh, Nahata Dzill, Tsé Si' Áni, and Wide Ruins, according to unofficial results released by the Navajo Election Administration.

In the unofficial results, 653 District 6 voters cast their ballots for Mitchell, who secured a decisive majority with a 348-vote margin over Raymond Smith, Jr., who received 305 votes. Olin Begay garnered 273 votes.

"On behalf of the 25th Navajo Nation Council, I extend my congratulations to Arbin Mitchell for earning the majority vote from the District 6 constituency," said Speaker Crystalyne Curley. "Mitchell brings a wealth of experience to this role, and we look forward to the guidance and leadership he will provide to the chapters he represents."

Mitchell previously served as Chief of Staff for President Russell Begaye, President Ben Shelly, and Speaker LoRenzo Bates. He also worked as a staff assistant under the presidential administrations of Albert Hale, Kelsey Begaye, Joe Shirley, and Jonathan Nez. Most recently, President Buu Nygren appointed him as the Division Director for the Division of Community Development.

The District 6 Council seat was previously held by Council Delegate Lomardo Aseret, who resigned on September 30, 2024. Tuesday's election filled the District 6 Council Delegate position and addressed chapter official roles for 39 Navajo Chapters.

Once the Navajo Election Administration certifies the election results, an oath of office ceremony will be scheduled for Council Delegate Mitchell. The date and location of the ceremony are yet to be determined. For further information, please visit https://navajoelections.navajo-nsn.gov.

###