## THE NAVAJO NATION LEGISLATIVE BRANCH INTERNET PUBLIC REVIEW PUBLICATION



LEGISLATION NO: \_0266-24\_\_ SPONSOR: <u>Amber Kanazbah Crotty</u>

TITLE: An Action Relating to Naabik'íyáti' Committee and Navajo Nation
Council; Confirming the Reappointment of Mr. Perry Charley to the Diné Uranium
Remediation Advisory Commission

Date posted: December 19, 2024 at 9:12PM

Digital comments may be e-mailed to <a href="maileo">comments@navajo-nsn.gov</a>

Written comments may be mailed to:

Executive Director
Office of Legislative Services
P.O. Box 3390
Window Rock, AZ 86515
(928) 871-7586

Comments may be made in the form of chapter resolutions, letters, position papers, etc. Please include your name, position title, address for written comments; a valid e-mail address is required. Anonymous comments will not be included in the Legislation packet.

**Please note**: This digital copy is being provided for the benefit of the Navajo Nation chapters and public use. Any political use is prohibited. All written comments received become the property of the Navajo Nation and will be forwarded to the assigned Navajo Nation Council standing committee(s) and/or the Navajo Nation Council for review. Any tampering with public records are punishable by Navajo Nation law pursuant to 17 N.N.C. *§374 et. seq.* 

## Tracking No. <u>0266-24</u>

DATE: December 11, 2024

TITLE OF RESOLUTION: PROPOSED NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL RESOLUTION; AN ACTION RELATING TO NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE AND NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL; CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF MR. PERRY CHARLEY TO THE DINÉ URANIUM REMEDIATION ADVISORY COMMISSION

**PURPOSE:** The purpose of the resolution is to confirm the reappointment of Mr. Perry Charley to serve on the Diné Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission as a Community Member of the Northern Agency for a term ending September 30, 2029.

Final Authority: Navajo Nation Council

Vote Required: Simple Majority

This written summary does not address recommended amendments as may be provided by the standing committees. The Office of Legislative Counsel requests each Council Delegate to review each proposed resolution in detail.

	HOLD PERIOD Maabik'íyáti' Comn	nittee
Posting End	Dato: 17 / 21/ / 21/	ence
Eligible for		uncil
1	PROPOSED NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL RESOLUTION	
2	25th NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL – Second Year, 2024	
3	INTRODUCED BY	
4		
5	<i></i>	
6	(Prime Sponsor)	
8	TRACKING NO. <u>0266-24</u>	
9		
10	AN ACTION	
11	RELATING TO NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE AND NAVAJO NATION	
12	COUNCIL; CONFIRMING THE REAPPOINTMENT OF MR. PERRY CHARLEY	
13	TO THE DINÉ URANIUM REMEDIATION ADVISORY COMMISSION	
14		
15	SECTION ONE. AUTHORITY	
16	A. The Navajo Nation Council established the Naabik'íyáti' Committee as a Navajo	
17	Nation Council standing committee. 2 N.N.C. § 700(A).	
18	B. The Naabik'íyáti' Committee of the Navajo Nation Council exercises legislative	
19	oversight of the Diné Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission. 2 N.N.C. § 3583;	
20	CAP-14-15.	
21	C. The Naabik'íyáti' Committee of the Navajo Nation Council, pursuant to 2 N.N.C. §	
22	164(A)(9), reviews proposed legislation which requires final action by the Navajo	
23	Nation Council. CO-45-12.	
24	D. The Navajo Nation Council appoints the six (6) commission members representing the	
25	six Abandoned Uranium Mines (AUM), Northern, North Central, Eastern, Southern,	
26	Western and Central. NABIJN-44-24.	
27		
28	SECTION TWO. FINDINGS	
29	A. The Diné Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission was established within the	
30	Executive Branch of the Navajo Nation. 2 N.N.C. § 3583; CAP-14-15.	

members. "Seven members shall be community members, preferably one from each of the six Abandoned Uranium Mines (AUM) Regions (as defined by the U.S. EPA) affected by past uranium mining — Northern, North Central, Eastern, Southern, Western, and Central, and one selected At-Large Community Representative. These seven (7) members shall all be enrolled members of the Navajo Nation with a background in environmental science, environmental justice, engineering, social science, health, policy making if at all possible." NABIJN-44-24, attached as **Exhibit 1**, DINÉ URANIUM REMEDIATION ADVISORY COMMISSION Amended Master Plan of Operation 2024 ("Commission Plan of Operation"), VIII (2)(a).

B. The Diné Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission shall consist of seven (7)

- C. "The Navajo Nation Council shall appoint the six Members representing the six uranium mining regions. NABIJN-44-24, Commission Plan of Operation, VIII (3)(b).
- D. "The President and Council may, but are not required to, make a public announcement soliciting letters of interest and statements of qualification for the Commission member positions. Exhibit 1, NABIJN-44-24, Commission Plan of Operation, VIII (3)(c).
- E. "The initial term of the Commission shall be approximately five (5) years. The second term shall begin when a quorum of Commissioners is established and shall end on September 30, 2029. The Navajo Nation Council may, by majority vote, renew the Commission for an additional five-year term, or for such period as the Council may choose." Exhibit 1, NABIJN-44-24, Commission Plan of Operation, VIII (1).
- F. Mr. Perry Charley has served on the Diné Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission as the Community Member from the Northern Agency. CJY-42-17 is attached hereto as **Exhibit 2.** Mr. Charley is an enrolled member of the Navajo Nation with background in environmental science, environmental justice, and policy making. *See*, Mr. Charley's CIB, letter of interest, and resume in Resolution CJY-42-17 (Exhibits A, B and C) attached as **Exhibit 2**.
- G. In a memorandum dated September 3, 2024, the Executive Director of the Diné Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission writes that the Delegates for the Northern AUM Region have selected Mr. Perry Charley to be reappointed as their representative. The September 3, 2024 memorandum is attached as **Exhibit 3**.

## SECTION THREE. CONFIRMING REAPPOINTMENT

The Navajo Nation hereby confirms the reappointment of Mr. Perry Charley to serve on the Diné Uranium Remediation Advisory Commission as a Community Member of the Northern Agency for a term ending on September 30, 2029.

24-354-1