## THE NAVAJO NATION LEGISLATIVE BRANCH INTERNET PUBLIC REVIEW PUBLICATION



LEGISLATION NO: \_0260-24\_\_

SPONSOR: Crystalyne Curley

**TITLE:** An Action Relating to Naabik'íyáti' Committee; Confirming the Speaker's Appointment of the Emergency Management Commission

Date posted: December 06, 2024 at 9:00PM

Digital comments may be e-mailed to comments@navajo-nsn.gov

Written comments may be mailed to:

Executive Director Office of Legislative Services P.O. Box 3390 Window Rock, AZ 86515 (928) 871-7586

Comments may be made in the form of chapter resolutions, letters, position papers, etc. Please include your name, position title, address for written comments; a valid e-mail address is required. Anonymous comments will not be included in the Legislation packet.

**Please note**: This digital copy is being provided for the benefit of the Navajo Nation chapters and public use. Any political use is prohibited. All written comments received become the property of the Navajo Nation and will be forwarded to the assigned Navajo Nation Council standing committee(s) and/or the Navajo Nation Council for review. Any tampering with public records are punishable by Navajo Nation law pursuant to 17 N.N.C. *§374 et. seq.* 

## LEGISLATIVE SUMMARY SHEET Tracking No. 0260-24

DATE: December 4, 2024

## **TITLE OF RESOLUTION:** PROPOSED STANDING COMMITTEE RESOLUTION; AN ACTION RELATING TO THE NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE; CONFIRMING THE SPEAKER'S APPOINTMENTS TO THE EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT COMMISSION

**PURPOSE:** The purpose of the resolution is to approve the confirms the appointment of the five members of the Emergency Management Commission.

- 1. Johnny Johnson, Civil Defense/Law Enforcement Appointee;
- 2. Dariel Dan Yazzie, First Aid/Health Appointee;
- 3. Marcarlo Roanhorse, Firefighting Appointee;
- 4. Eugenia Quintana, Environmental Appointee;
- 5. Mihio Manus, Broadcast and Print Media Appointee;
- 6. Delegate Shawna Ann Claw, Elected Official Appointee.

Final Authority: Naabik'íyáti' Committee

Vote Required: Simple Majority

This written summary does not address recommended amendments as may be provided by the standing committees. The Office of Legislative Counsel requests each Council Delegate to review each proposed resolution in detail.

5-DAY BI	LI HOLD PERIOD: Naabik'íyáti' C	ommittee
	Posting Time/Date:	
	nd Date: <u>12-11-24</u> or Action: <u>12-12-24</u>	
1	PROPOSED STANDING COMMITTEE RESOLUTION	
2	25 <sup>th</sup> NAVAJO NATION COUNCIL – Second Year, 2024	
3	INTRODUCED BY	
4		
5		
6	(Prime Sponsor)	
7		
8	TRACKING NO. <u>0260-24</u>	
9	AN ACTION	
10	RELATING TO THE NAABIK'ÍYÁTI' COMMITTEE; CONFIRMING THE	
11	SPEAKER'S APPOINTMENTS TO THE EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT	
12	COMMISSION	
13		
14	SECTION ONE. AUTHORITY	
15	A. The Naabik'íyáti' Committee is a standing committee of the Navajo Nation Council. 2	
16	N.N.C. § 700 (A).	
17	B. The Speaker of the Navajo Nation Council appoints and the Naabik'iyáti' Committee	
18	confirms the Commissioners to the Emergency Management Commission. 2 N.N.C.	
19	882(B); CO-45-12, Section Five, References to Previous Standing Committees.	
20		
21	SECTION TWO. FINDINGS	
22	A. The Navajo Nation Council established the Emergency Management Commission	
23	within the Legislative Branch. 2 N.N.C. § 881.	
24	B. The Emergency Management Commission's purpose is to "coordinate emergency and	
25	disaster relief services by the Navajo Nation and non-tribal entities" together with the	
26	Navajo Department of Emergency Management. 2 N.N.C. § 883(A).	
27	C. The Speaker shall appoint six individuals with technical expertise in each of these areas:	
28	civil defense/law enforcement, first aid/health, firefighting, environmental, broadcast	
29	and print media, and an elected official. 2 N.N.C. §882(A).	
30		

1	D. The Speaker appointed the following individuals, whose letters of interest and resumes
2	are attached as exhibits:
3	1. Johnny Johnson, Civil Defense/Law Enforcement Appointee, Exhibit A;
4	2. Dariel Dan Yazzie, First Aid/Health Appointee, Exhibit B;
5	3. Marcarlo Roanhorse, Firefighting Appointee, Exhibit C;
6	4. Eugenia Quintana, Environmental Appointee, Exhibit D;
7	5. Mihio Manus, Broadcast and Print Media Appointee, Exhibit E; and
8	6. Delegate Shawna Ann Claw, Elected Official Appointee, Exhibit F.
9	E. Emergency Management Commission members shall serve a term concurrent with the
10	Navajo Nation President or until replaced. 2 N.N.C. §882(B).
11	
12	SECTION THREE. CONFIRMING THE SPEAKER'S APPOINTEES TO THE
13	EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT COMMISSION
14	The Naabik'íyáti' Committee, pursuant to 2 N.N.C. § 882 (B), hereby confirms the
15	appointment of the five members of the Emergency Management Commission.
16	1. Johnny Johnson, Civil Defense/Law Enforcement Appointee;
17	2. Dariel Dan Yazzie, First Aid/Health Appointee;
18	3. Marcarlo Roanhorse, Firefighting Appointee;
19	4. Eugenia Quintana, Environmental Appointee;
20	5. Mihio Manus, Broadcast and Print Media Appointee;
21	6. Delegate Shawna Ann Claw, Elected Official Appointee.
22	
23	
24	
25	
26	
27	
28	
29	
30	
	Page 2 of 2 24-563-1